MINUTES OF THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE MEETING: CONTINUATION OF THE MEETING OF 12 MAY 2023 ON 14 MAY 2023

- 1. The meeting of 12 May 2023 was resumed in continuation of the meeting of 12 May 2023 at 11 AM on 14 May 2023. The concurrence of all present was obtained before the commencement of proceedings.
- 2. Lt Col Kulwant Singh drew attention to a post on social media by Mr S C Pathania questioning the fact that the election was slated for 30 Jul 2023, i.e., two weeks before the date of completion of tenure of the incumbent management. It was clarified that the Society Bye Laws mandated the elections to be conducted two weeks prior to the end of the tenure to enable, if required, proper handing taking over and change of operators for the bank accounts

Nomination of Returning Officers and Independent Members for Conducting Elections

- 3. It was recalled that during the earlier part of the meeting on 12 May 2023, it had been decided to ask for additional volunteers. Col Parveen Ahluwalia had offered his services in response to this notice.
- 4. Accordingly, the pool of those who had agreed to conduct the elections was as under: -
 - (a) Brig S N Setia (d2/501)
 - (b) Col R C Jaswal (E7/102)
 - (c) Col Arun Dhawan (E7/201)
 - (d) Col V K Popli (E2/403)
 - (e) Col Pradeep Sangwan (E3/604)
 - (f) Col (Mrs) Uma Trikha (E6/101)
 - (g) Col Parveen Ahluwalia (D1/501)
- 5. It was observed that during the elections of 2020, only three Returning Offices had been hard pressed and this time the number of voters would increase. Furthermore, due to the large time lag intervening between now and the date of elections, some of the volunteers might decide to contest the election themselves or emergent commitments might come up. Hence, it was prudent to include all the volunteers which would cater for the additional effort required, as well as any unforeseen dropping outs.
- 6. It was further decided that Brig Raghuvinder Kapoor, SC (E9/601) be requested to become an Independent Observer.
- 7. The objection of Col Rajeev Singh to the nomination of Col R C Jaswal was discussed. No other member had any objection. Hence his nomination

was approved – more so because he would be the only member with previous experience of conducting elections.

8. The final panel for conducting elections was approved as under: -

Returning Officers

- (a) Brig S N Setia (D2/501)
- (b) Col R C Jaswal (E7/102)
- (c) Col Arun Dhawan (E7/201)
- (d) Col V K Popli (E2/403)
- (e) Col Pradeep Sangwan (E3/604)
- (f) Col (Mrs) Uma Trikha (E6/101)

Independent Members

- (a) Brig Raghuvinder Kapoor (E9/601).(Subject to acceptance of request
- (b) Col Parveen Ahluwalia (D1/501)

Date:

14 May 2023 Col R S Rathee (Retd)

President

Brig D K Mohan (Retd) General Secretary

Parl